# **Minutes of Meeting**

December 5, 2014





## Minutes of Meeting DECEMBER 5, 2014

## TABLE OF CONTENTS

Legal Matter	1
Legal Matter	 1



#### **BOARD OF TRUSTEES' MEETING**

FRIDAY, DECEMBER 5, 2014 Electronic Ballot

> 1913 William Street Jefferson City, Missouri

**TRUSTEES PARTICIPATING:** 

Mr. Lloyd "Joe" Carmichael, Chair Colonel Ron Replogle, Vice Chair Ms. Sue W. Cox Major J. Bret Johnson Senator Mike Kehoe Mr. Dave Nichols Representative Shawn Rhoads Mr. William "Bill" Seibert Mr. Kenneth H. Suelthaus Mr. Todd Tyler

TRUSTEES ABSENT: None.

**STAFF PRESIDING:** 

Mr. Scott Simon, Executive Director Ms. Pam Henry, Assistant Executive Director Ms. Greta Bassett-Seymour, General Counsel Ms. Lois Wankum, Executive Assistant

A special meeting of the Missouri Department of Transportation and Highway Patrol Employees' Retirement System (MPERS) was held by electronic ballot on Friday, December 5, 2014. All of the above named trustees submitted electronic ballots.

\* \* \* \* \* \* \*

### LEGAL MATTER

An emergency meeting was held in closed session on October 20, 2014, where it was discussed whether or not to change MPERS's policy regarding same-sex spousal benefits. It was determined that more information was needed, and the matter was tabled until the next regular meeting which was held on November 20, 2014. During open session, it was determined that the trustees present wished to adopt a policy whereby MPERS would recognize same-sex spouses. Upon conclusion of the discussion, the trustees requested that MPERS staff prepare an official policy for the trustees to review and vote upon, with the intention to adopt as Board policy.

The Trustees were given an opportunity to review the new policy and provide comments. A change was made to the second paragraph to include international same-sex marriages and a new version was distributed with the ballots on December 4, 2014.

After consideration, the Board, by electronic ballot, submitted their votes as follows:

**TRUSTEES PRESENT:**Mr. Lloyd "Joe" Carmichael, Aye<br/>Colonel Ron Replogle, Aye<br/>Ms. Sue W. Cox, Aye<br/>Major J. Bret Johnson, Aye<br/>Senator Mike Kehoe, Nay<br/>Mr. Dave Nichols, Aye<br/>Representative Shawn Rhoads, Nay<br/>Mr. William "Bill" Seibert, Aye<br/>Mr. Kenneth H. Suelthaus, Aye<br/>Mr. Todd Tyler, Aye

The policy addressing same-sex marriages was passed on an 8 - 2 vote.